Exceptional Education at the Heart of the Community

Pre-School Curriculum

Our activities are planned using the government's “Early Years Foundation Stage” guidance which covers children aged 0 − 5 years and continues on into the School Reception Year. Through our planned activities, we encourage all areas of learning and growth in both self-esteem and social skills. Planned activities take place both in and out doors as appropriate. Activities & Facilities Activities include (but are not limited to!) painting, drawing, music and movement, role play, cooking, crafts, water/sand play, construction toys, singing, games, computer work, visits out and visitors in. Our excellent outdoor facilities are used each day, as much as possible. A quiet corner where books are available is always on offer, as well as activities to help the development of reading and writing skills.

The Early Years Foundation Stage guidance divides children’s learning and development into seven areas: 

  1. Personal, social and emotional development
  2. Communication and language
  3. Physical development
  4. Literacy
  5. Mathematics
  6. Understanding the world
  7. Expressive arts and design

The Early Years Foundation Stage sets the standard that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children’s ‘school readiness’ and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life.

The Characteristics of effective learning and the prime and specific areas of learning and development are all interconnected. The ways in which a child engages with other people and their environment – playing and exploring, active learning, and creating and thinking critically, underpin learning and development across all areas and support the child to remain an effective and motivated learner.

The three characteristics of effective teaching and learning are:

  1. Playing and exploring – engagement – children investigate and experience things and ‘have a go’.
  2. Active learning – motivation – children concentrate and keep on trying if they encounter difficulties and enjoy achievements.
  3. Creating and thinking critically – thinking – children have and develop their own ideas, make links between ideas, develop strategies for doing things. There are seven areas of learning and development.

The three prime areas are particularly important for providing children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning and also building their capability to learn and form relationships. These prime areas reflect the key skills all children need to develop and learn effectively to be ready for school. The prime areas are:

  1. Communication and language
  2. Physical development
  3. Personal, social and emotional development

Practitioners must also support children in four specific areas, through which the prime areas are strengthened. The four specific areas are:

  1. Literacy
  2. Mathematics
  3. Understanding the world
  4. Expressive arts and design

At Oasis Pre-school, we like to consider the individual needs, interests and stage of development of each child and use this information to plan challenging and enjoyable experiences for each child in all of the areas of learning and development.